Suzi's Blog of all things blogable

America Trip – Seattle

Posted on: 06/05/2012

Right – time to write about leg number two of our trip. Seattle is a bit different to the rest of the trip, as this is where we meet up with the last of my partner’s brothers, his wife & their daughter… who is currently Miss 1, but the day after we arrive in Seattle she will become Miss 2 🙂

We arrive in Seattle around 7pm on Thursday 23rd August, after just two nights in San Francisco. I have a feeling at this point we will all just be looking forward to an early night in a comfy bed. Did I mention the sleeping arrangements in San Fran at all? All you need to know is me and Miss 3 are sharing a bed… good times. We still haven’t decided whether we are going to just hire a big 12 seater van at this point to fit us all, or if there is a better way of doing that.

On Friday we are travelling to a place called Anacortes to celebrate Miss 2’s birthday with the In-law’s family as well. I have heard amazing things about this place and how beautiful it is, so I am really looking forward to seeing it in person.  I think we are going to be a bit spoilt and might even be going out on the In-laws boat to see parts of Anacortes by water. We are spending the weekend there before heading back to Seattle.

Back in Seattle things are a bit interesting – as everyone but myself has been there before and done all the touristy things. I am planning on getting a Seattle City-Pass, also getting the other-half to get one as well as, even though he’s done it all before, it would be nice to have someone seeing it all with me. I think the rest of the family are still pondering doing it all again, which is a good sign for me on how good the sites actually are!

Seattle is very much so our one un-planned stop on the trip. We know we are going to head down to Portland for an overnight stay and to see the Spruce Goose at the Evergreen Aviation & Space museum, but even this we have left very unplanned. No hotels booked as we are going to just get a last-minute deal as it’s only one night.

In Seattle itself we don’t need to worry about accommodation, which is both lovely in the sense we get as much time with the American family as possible and it also gives our poor wallets a wee break.

We leave Seattle early  on Saturday 1st September to head to Las Vegas (Blog on this soon) giving us 8 full days in Seattle and the region total. I feel that without doing much research on Seattle and it’s surroundings there must be things that I am going to miss out on along the way – any suggestions for this leg?

Now that I have gotten round to leg 2 of the trip I may as well give you all a wee update to the here and now. I am busy trying to research and learn the best ways to start a vege garden as I just couldn’t stop myself wanting to dabble in gardening. I went to Mitre 10 yesterday and bought a couple of different pea seeds, as well as a mixed vege seedling pack with Spinach, Brocolli & Cauliflower. Unfortunately when I got home I realised that the timeline for the pea’s puts them maturing right when I am away, so I think I will hold off sowing them for another couple of weeks at least. In the meantime I am working out the best way to use what little I have to prepare the ground – which up until last week was grass.

I have read a whole lot and decided the best way to do it is layers of newspaper and then composty stuff on top – in my case my compost is only grass clippings, but it’s got to be better than nothing right? Anywho – I am wasting a gloriously sunny day at my computer when I could be getting started on that garden.

Until next time 🙂

(Rather tempted to sign off XOXO – Gossip Girl, I think I have been watching that show too much recently)

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

  • @WendyWings The cat hammock was my personal favourite :) 6 days ago
  • @not_friends We have full insulation and it's still Bloomin cold... I remember what this house was like without it and it's just not right! 1 week ago
  • @Imaginedragons All of the above?! 1 week ago
  • @Coleadve I am very tempted to, but have meetings today. Was hoping our work would have provided some guidance/expectations, meh 1 week ago
  • Aside from it being freezing, does the rain looking like it's causing flooding at all? 1 week ago
  • @Coleadve Neither - they seem to switch between leaving a card, leaving behind the garage or leaving on the porch. Frustrating. 1 week ago
  • Sometimes you wonder the thinking going on - like leaving parcels in the open on a day like today! Why not our front doorstep, which is dry! 1 week ago
  • Thanks @nzpost for the courier parcel that was left in the grass behind the garage in the pouring rain, Wrecking all the wool inside 1 week ago
  • @shadow_nz @geonet I freaked out seeing 5.9 invercargill, then it moved the Blenheim... where was it?! 1 week ago
  • RT @geonet: M4.1 quake causing light shaking near Martinborough geonet.org.nz/quakes/2017p51… 1 week ago
